top of page
Lee County Community Orchestra is Sanford's hometown orchestra, a non-profit, volunteer ensemble performing free concerts of classical and popular music for Sanford, NC, and the surrounding area.

For the 2022-23 season, LCCO is led by music director Vincent Povázsay. Povázsay is co-director and conductor of earspace, a contemporary chamber music ensemble based in Raleigh. He also serves as a cover conductor with the North Carolina Symphony. Learn more about Vincent on our Musicians page.

LCCO's 2022-23 season is entitled "A Sensational Season." See the
Concerts page for our performance schedule and details.
Leadership for 2022-23

LCCO Association Officers

Reinette S. Stephenson, President
Mike Handy, Vice President
Joe Cavalluzzi, Treasurer

Karen Huey, Secretary-Manager



Dr. Jo Ann Bowman
Elisabeth Crandall
Ken Hoyle
Bill Gross
Marco McCarthy

Kim Whitney
Lauren Winkens

Our Season

LCCO performs FREE concerts for the community and creates an opportunity for community members to play in an ensemble with a professional conductor.


LCCO’s annual season features four sets of concerts in October, December, March, and May. Our musicians have a wide range of experience and abilities from high school students and local music teachers to adults who have played their entire lives.


We are always looking for new musicians! Email if you are interested in becoming an orchestra musician.


Rehearsals are most Tuesdays at 6:30 pm in the Fine Arts Building at Lee County High School. Learn more on our Play With Us page.

2022-23 is the LCCO's 35th season of performances. Check out our Musicians page to see a list of active or recent musicians playing with the orchestra.

Orchestra's Home

Most performances are held at the Mann Center, Sanford’s performance, arts, and community center. The Mann Center is located at 507 North Steele Street in Sanford.

LCCO Mailing address: 

Lee County Community Orchestra Association

P.O. Box 3174

Sanford, NC  27331-3174

Free Concerts for 30+ Years

Lee County Community Orchestra has been performing great music since 1988. Originally sponsored by the Lee County Parks & Recreation Department, the orchestra now is a membership organization sustained largely by private donations.


Support Sanford's hometown orchestra by becoming a member of the LCCO Association. 


Learn more about LCCO on our History page and find a list of performance details back to 2010 at Past Seasons.

Join Our Mailing List

Sign-up to stay informed about upcoming concerts and other orchestra news and events. and follow us on social:





bottom of page